A Hymn on Prayer

Creevelea Friary, Co Leitrim, Ireland. Photograph by Tom Gordon

Prayer

This is a hymn was originally written to be used during the Season of Lent. This period of preparation for Easter has always been a time of prayerful reflection. As I thought about this, I recalled a piece I’d written for the Church of Scotland’s annual publication on prayer, “Pray Now”, in 2019, on the theme of ‘Prayer and Silence’ (see https://www.churchofscotland.org.uk/worship/prayers/prayer ) and I realised how wide and varied my prayer life had become. So, as I pondered that, I tied together in one place all the different facets of prayer that matter to me.

The hymn ended up having seven verses – so I decided I’d better stop there, though I suspect that several more verses might have emerged in time. If this hymn is used, therefore, it lends itself to being offered with selected verses, as suits the theme, purpose or style of an act of worship. It could equally well be used as a reflection of meditation, with one, two or more voices, with pauses for silence – and prayer – between the verses. 

The hymn was written to be sung to the tune “Sursum Corda” by Alfred Morton Smith, but can be sung to any 10 10 10 10 melody, depending on the mood to be created.

***

Prayer is the silence when no prayers are born,

When clear and clever thoughts cannot be formed;

Prayer is the yearning for a way to say

What’s hidden in this wordless heart today.

*

Prayer is the smile upon this thankful face

When I give thought to your abundant grace;

Prayer is the tears that from my eyes will fall

When your amazing love I yet recall.

*

Prayer is the desert time when prayers are dry

When in my agonies to you I cry;

Prayer is the folk who then will pray for me

And pray my prayers when I weep silently.

*

Prayer is the written word to which I turn

From every saintly life from which I learn;

Prayer is the careful thought of every sage

Preserved in time, yet fresh for every age.

*

Prayer is the gentle words I learned by heart

At home, in school, in childhood’s prayerful start;

Prayer is the words that often I repeat

When I am fearful at your mercy seat.

*

Prayer is the longest prayer I’ve ever heard,

Or yet the shortest prayer – a single word!

Prayer is the sharpest thought that comes and goes

When longer prayers I cannot now compose.

*

So, God, if prayer like this is all of me,

Accept the prayers I bring, howe’er they be;

And bless prayerful child, that I may know

Through every prayer more grace to me you’ll show.

***

A new hymn © Tom Gordon 2020

Leave a comment